Washington University in St. Louis > Assembly Series
Assembly Series

FALL 2014 ASSEMBLY SERIES SCHEDULE

Download the fall schedule as a printable PDF

KENJI YOSHINO
Monday, September 8
(2 lecture times)
"Covering: The Hidden Assault on Our Civil Rights"
Noon Anheuser-Busch Hall Bryan Cave Moot Courtroom
7 p.m. Graham Chapel First Year Reading Program Lecture
JACK DEVINE
Tuesday, September 16
"The Importance and Ethics of National Intelligence"
5 p.m. Steinberg Hall Auditorium Elliot Stein Lecture in Ethics
SHERRILYN IFILL
Wednesday, September 17
"From Brown to Ferguson: The Unfinished Business of Civil Rights"
Noon Anheuser-Busch Hall Bryan Cave Moot Courtroom
(Also at 7 p.m. at the Mo Historical Museum)
RODERICK FERGUSON
Monday, September 29
on Higher Education
"The University and the Combinations of Heart and Mind"
5 p.m. Umrath Hall Lounge James McLeod Memorial Lecture
PATRICIA WILLIAMS
Tuesday, September 30
(1st of 3 lectures)
"Love in the Time of Identity Wars: Anatomy of Short Lives"
Noon Anheuser-Busch Hall Bryan Cave Moot Courtroom
Interdisciplinary Project in Humanities Lecture Series
CARL HART
Friday, October 10
"High Price: A Neuroscientist's Journey of Self-discovery that Challenges Everything You Know about Drugs and Society"
11 a.m. Graham Chapel Chancellor's Fellows Lecture
GAUTAM YADAMA
& MARK KATZMAN

Monday, October 13
"Fires, Fuel and the Fate of 3 Billion"
5 p.m. Anheuser-Busch Hall Bryan Cave Moot Courtroom
STEPHEN PROTHERO
Friday, October 23
"Why Liberals Win: America's Culture Wars from the Election of 1800 to Same-Sex Marriage"
7:30 p.m. Knight Hall Emerson Auditorium Danforth Distinguished Lecture
CHRISTOPH IRMSCHER
Monday, October 27
"Talking about Race in 19th-century American Science: Louis Agassiz and His Contemporaries"
4 p.m. Location: TBD Thomas Hall Lecture in History of Science
ERIC KANDEL
Tuesday, October 28
"The Age of Insight: The Quest to Understand the Unconscious in Art, Mind and Brain from Vienna 1900 to the Present"
5 p.m. Graham Chapel Arthur Holly Compton Science Lecture
DAVID SCHNEER
Tuesday, November 4
"Through Soviet Jewish Eyes: Photography, War and the Holocaust"
5 p.m. Location: TBD Holocaust Memorial Lecture
SHERRILYN IFILL
NASRINE SERAJI

Friday, November 7
"As a Woman I Have No Country, as a Woman My Country Is the World of Architecture"
7 6:30 p.m. Steinberg Hall Auditorium Coral Courts Lecture
CURTIS SITTENFELD
Wednesday, November 12
"An Evening with Curtis Sittenfeld"
6 p.m. location: TBD Neureuther Library Lecture
Seal of Washington University in St. Louis